17.1 C
New York
Monday, September 25, 2023

New VA Employment Legal guidelines Efficient July 1, 2023

Virginia Governor, Glenn Youngkin, concluded the 2023 Virginia Common Meeting session by signing 738 payments into regulation and amending 78 others. Among the many payments, essential updates have been made to employment legal guidelines from worker organ donation to ID badges to confidentiality agreements. 

Whereas these legal guidelines are set to take impact July 1, 2023, Virginia employers ought to start getting ready now to make sure compliance. 

Organ Donor Depart Regulation 

The Organ Donor Depart Regulation states that lined employers, of fifty or extra staff, should supply 60 enterprise days of unpaid, job-protected depart to eligible staff who donate a number of of their organs, and 30 days of unpaid, job-protected depart to staff who function bone marrow donors. Employers should proceed to offer well being profit plan protection and restore returning staff to the identical or an equal place held when the worker went on depart except a situation unrelated to the organ donation depart requires the employer to disclaim the person’s request for restoration. 

Eligibility applies to staff that meet the next standards:

  • Have been employed by the employer for at the least 12 months
  • Have labored at the least 1,250 hours for his or her employer throughout the earlier 12 months 
  • Capacity to offer written documentation from a doctor that the worker is an organ or bone marrow donor and that there’s a medical necessity for the donation 

Click on right here to learn the Organ Donor Depart Regulation in full. 

Prohibited Use of Worker’s Social Safety Quantity 

The Virginia Worker ID Regulation prohibits employers in Virginia to make use of an worker’s social safety quantity or any associated quantity as their identification quantity. It is usually forbidden for employers to incorporate an worker’s social safety quantity or associated numbers on any type of identification card or badge. Virginia employers who break this regulation may face fines as much as $100 per violation. 

Click on right here to learn the Virginia Worker ID Regulation in full.


It’s essential to remain updated on the entire new payments signed into regulation to make sure compliance. Click on right here to examine the entire payments Governor Youngkin signed.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles